Free-Form Friday: TRON Legacy

TRON - Jeff BridgesOK, so I was really unsure of what to write about for my first Free-Form Friday.  I mean, there are a lot of things that I feel passionate about, but I just wasn’t really feeling it today for any of them.  So as my thoughts meandered through the topics I’ve considered, I found one that has me really excited and anxious.

On December 17th, 2010, the new movie, TRON: Legacy will be released.  I can honestly say that there have been a number of movies I’ve really been excited to see over the past several years, but none has quite gotten me as excited as this one.  (If they ever do a sequel to Buckaroo Banzai, look out!)

The original TRON was released in 1982, although I don’t think I saw it until several years later.  The plot centers around Kevin Flynn, played by Jeff Bridges, who gets inserted into a computer system and has to fight his way out in both game scenarios and against the MCP (Master Control Program), an artificial intelligence program running on the mainframe.  What made this movie so iconic to me was that it incorporated so many different themes that were really cool to my 1980’s teenage self.  Kevin Flynn was a computer programmer and a hacker.  His goal in life was to write awesome computer games and found his own game company.  He ends up running an arcade that has many of the games he designed but didn’t get credit for.  He is zapped into the computer and actually has to play the games for real rather than on an arcade console.  Inside the system he has relative super powers because he is a “user” and not just a program.

So, yeah, programming, hacking, computer games, arcades, zapped into computers, super powers, everything that an 80’s teenage guy like me loved.  While my current self would have experienced a snap in my disbelief suspenders, the nostalgia of the experience when I was a kid makes it an enjoyable movie still.  (Kinda like watching the 1980’s version of Flash Gordon, which really creates its own category when it comes to so-crazy-bad-it-is-good cult movies.)  Overall, though, I really enjoy TRON and I am looking forward to the new movie, a sequel that focuses on Flynn’s son and his trip getting zapped into a computer.  Maybe not at the top of the list for movies I really wanted someone to make, but definitely in my top five on that list.

As I thought over the movies I’ve seen, I realized how much I really liked movies with Jeff Bridges in them.  Besides Kevin Flynn in TRON, he was Starman, Tucker, Michael Faraday in Arlington Road (one of the most awesome suspenseful ending twist movies I’ve ever seen), Dr. Mark Powell in K-PAX, and Obadiah Stane in Iron Man.  I also have heard that he is very good as The Dude in The Big Lebowski, which is making it to my “to watch” list now that I realize how many movies he has been in that I like.  Also in this movie is Bruce Boxleitner which, I know may not mean much to you guys, but he was in one of my mom’s favorite shows, Scarecrow and Mrs. King.  Then, of course, he was in one of the best sci-fi series of all time, Babylon 5.

So I’m really looking forward to the sequel to TRON.  It comes out on December 17th, which is my birthday weekend.  Yeah, having one of your top five movies-I-wish-they-would-make come out for your birthday is pretty cool.  Here’s hoping it lives up to my expectations.

~CC

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 1 Comment »

One Response to “Free-Form Friday: TRON Legacy”

  1. Dad Says:

    Yeah, as I remember the popcorn was really good!

    Love
    Dad


Leave a Reply

