Reflections of a New Runner

So, I’m a runner now.  After six months of running (with some walking thrown in), I think I classify as a runner.

For those new to my life, this is part of a weight loss/fitness “bug” that I caught in the summer of 2010 (at almost 40).  I spent most of the first year just walking and not running, but I decided to try the Couch To 5K plan in January and I haven’t looked back.  I love running.  I’ll post again about my weight loss/fitness when I reach my next goal.  (That will be the 100 pounds lost mark.)

After six months I have quite a few observations, but here are the top three thoughts that I think anyone who runs will be able to appreciate:

  1. Every wind is a headwind.  I’m not sure why this is, but it seems whenever the wind is blowing, it is in my face.  This isn’t nearly as big a deal now as it was when I first started running outside.  (OK, it is a good thing now that summer temperatures are here.)  When I first moved from inside to outside for running, it seemed like every wind was headwind at gale force.
  2. Every bark is an imminent attack.  I’ve really only had one encounter with a dog, and that was just an ankle-biter upset because I was on his property.  (He chased me to the property line and promptly stopped to simply bark his annoyance.)  But I have to say, while I enjoy running to music, I have to keep it low enough to hear the occasional barks sounding around me.  Every time I plan my defense against the pending attacks (that, thankfully, never come).
  3. Every hill sucks.  Yeah, this one is still a major annoyance.  Oh, don’t get me wrong, I don’t avoid the hills, but they do suck.  Quite literally, they suck the energy, speed, and progress right out of you.  On one of my normal “long” routes, there is a particular hill that kills me every time.  It isn’t particularly steep, but it seems to go on forever.  And it is followed by only a short downhill with more hills beyond.  I could run the other direction to escape this hill, but where’s the fun in that. 🙂

I’ve signed up for the St. Jude’s Half-Marathon this year.  December will see me trotting through the streets of Memphis for a great cause.  I’m really hoping to raise $1000 for this wonderful organization.  Here’s my page if you are able to help out.  Every little bit helps and it really is for a great cause, so please consider donating if you can.

If you have any questions about running or about St. Jude’s, please feel free to ask me.  Most everyone that will read this knows how to get in touch with me, and if not, just leave a comment and I’ll answer what I can.

So, I’m a runner now.  Or is the correct term jogger?  I saw this last night and I loved it.  I think that’s what I look like.  🙂

3 Responses to “Reflections of a New Runner”

  1. Spider Says:

    Personally, I am averse to the term “jog” or “jogger.” Media always goes “jogger” robbed or died or slain…something negative. 30000 “joggers” step off in marathon…it is just wrong. We are runners. We run Ragnars. We don’t “jog” Ragnars. We run trails. We don’t jog trails. A triathlon is swim, bike, run not swim, bike, jog. Non runners use the term jog. Do you go out for a jog or do you go out for a run? I am about to go for a run with runners who run…just sayin, since you asked.

    • Paul Says:

      I agree. 🙂 But since the Muppets used jogging in their sketch back in the 70’s (when that may have been the appropriate term), I included it. Gotta love me some Muppets.

  2. ifyounevertri Says:

    Awesome Muppet video!


Leave a Reply

