Church, Culture and World

Very late tonight, and I haven’t posted yet.  I was listening to the White Horse Inn bonus program on Cain and Abel from August of 1997.  (This is the bonus program on the November 10th, 2013 CD.)  They are discussing Cain not being executed for the murder of Abel as an example of God’s mercy and patience.  Then, when they speak of Cain founding his city, Michael Horton says:

“The ‘city of man’ is Cain’s city of refuge, governed not by saving grace but by common grace, designed to protect sinners from each other but not from God.”

I find this concept fascinating.  I’m not sure, as there is no reference given, but I suspect this stems from Augustine’s work on the two kingdoms.  But the idea of government within common grace being designed to protect sinners from each other is very close to my personal beliefs about government.

I know this isn’t much for today’s post, but it is something to consider and chew on.  I’ve been mulling it over since I heard it this morning.

~CC

Leave a Reply

